top of page

young artist scholarships


Auditions February 6, 2024
Winners to perform at WSA Concert on March 2, 2024

Each year, the Waxahachie Symphony Association awards $6,000 in scholarships to outstanding Ellis County graduating Seniors. The WSA Young Artist Awards recognizes students with outstanding musical talents and accomplishments. Awards are given in two categories, vocal and instrumental.


The 1st Place winners receive a cash award of $1,500 and perform in the Spring at a Waxahachie Symphony Concert. 2nd Place receive $1,000 and 3rd Place receives $500, and both are recognized at a WSA Concert.

Seniors must be nominated by a music teacher in order to be considered for the award. In January, letters are sent to public and private Ellis County High School choral and band directors requesting nominations. Nomination forms are also sent to private music teachers. Home School students are welcome to participate, but must be recommended by their private music teacher. We invite teachers to nominate Seniors they feel are deserving of recognition for their musical ability.


To nominate a student: A teacher may select nominees or a student may apply and request a teacher's recommendation.  Nomination forms are below.

Nominated students must meet the following criteria:

1. A graduating senior from an Ellis County High School.
2. Participant in a high school music program. 
3. Private music student recommended by a private music teacher in voice, piano, organ, or other instruments.

2024 Auditions:

February 6

4 pm


Southwestern Assembly of God University - Hagee Center

Burke Hall

499 East University Avenue

Waxahachie, Texas 75165

Winners to perform at WSA Concert on Saturday, March 2.


Contact Ann Montgomery for more information at

Pianist playing alongside trumpeter
2023 Winners


1st Place -- Clara Moriarty, Oboe         

Waxahachie High School

Underwritten by Buffalo Creek Dental


2nd Place -- Joseph Jimenez, Clarinet

Waxahachie High School

3rd Place -- Jacey Waits, French Horn

Midlothian High School



1st Place -- Giovonna Childress

Waxahachie High School

Underwritten by Pearman Oil and LP Gas


2nd Place --  Giavanna Riley

Waxahachie High School


3rd Place -- Kenon Wright

Waxahachie High School

bottom of page